Download Full Text (194 KB)


At the meeting of the General Synod of the Reformed Protestant Dutch Church, it was resolved that a committee be appointed to consider the liturgy of the church. Sixty delegates voted to approve the resolution; twenty-four did not including Rev. Albertus C. Van Raalte. The committee was appointed which included such personages as George W. Bethune, Elbert S. Porter, Talbot W. Chambers, Theodore Frelinghuysen, and Stephen Van Rensselaer.




Philadelphia, Pennsylvania


Description of the document by Dr. Elton J. Bruins.

About the collection:

Elton J. Bruins, long-time professor in the Department of Religion at Hope College, spent years collecting documents by and about Albertus C. Van Raalte, founder of Holland, Michigan and early patron of Hope College. Documents were gathered from dozens of public and private collections, making a nearly exhaustive collection of Van Raalte's writings and reflections. It is these documents that make up the "Van Raalte Papers."

Digitizing the Van Raalte papers was supported by the Dutch Culture USA program by the Consulate General of the Netherlands in New York. The project was done in partnership with Heritage Hall at Calvin University, which also digitized its Van Raalte collections.


The Acts and Proceedings of the General Synod of the Reformed Protestant Dutch Church in North American, convened in the City of Philadelphia, June, 1853, pp. 357-358.

At the Meeting of the General Synod of the Reformed Protestant Dutch Church, It Was Resolved That a Committee be Appointed to Consider the Liturgy of the Church.