Henry ten Hoor



Download Full Text (272 KB)


A report of the election results of the 2 April election appeared in this issue of De Hollander, page 2, column 3. The persons elected are Henry D. Post for supervisor, Hermanus Doesburg for town clerk, Hendrik van Eijk for treasurer, Albertus C. Van Raalte for school inspector, Willem J. Mulder for highway commissioner, Jan Roest for justice of the peace, Coenraad Hofman and Jan H. Stegink for directors of the poor, and Jan Binnenkant, Homer E. Hudson, Kommer Schaddelee, and Jan Geerts for constables.




Holland, Michigan


In Dutch; translation by Dr. Henry ten Hoor.

Description of the document and reference to the Holland Museum by Dr. Elton J. Bruins.

About the collection:

Elton J. Bruins, long-time professor in the Department of Religion at Hope College, spent years collecting documents by and about Albertus C. Van Raalte, founder of Holland, Michigan and early patron of Hope College. Documents were gathered from dozens of public and private collections, making a nearly exhaustive collection of Van Raalte's writings and reflections. It is these documents that make up the "Van Raalte Papers."

Digitizing the Van Raalte papers was supported by the Dutch Culture USA program by the Consulate General of the Netherlands in New York. The project was done in partnership with Heritage Hall at Calvin University, which also digitized its Van Raalte collections.


The original documents are held in the Holland Museum.


This digitized material is intended for personal research/study only. The original documents may not be reproduced for commercial use in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, without permission in writing from the Holland Museum.

A Report of the Election Results Appeared in De Hollander