William Buursma



Download Full Text (45 KB)


At the congregational meeting of the First Reformed Church, the election of elders and deacons took place. The voting results for elder were: T. Keppel, 50 votes; A. Krabshuis, 40 votes; Kroes, 17 votes, and J. van de Luijster, 27 votes. For deacon: D. te Roller, 52 votes; R. Schilleman, 31 votes; P. de Vries, 32 votes, Kroes, 23 votes; J. van de Luijster, 15 votes; and J. van Dijk, 33 votes. [I assume that Keppel and Krabshuis were elected elders and te Roller, de Vries, and van Dijk, deacons.] The minutes were not signed.




Holland, Michigan


In Dutch; translation by Rev. William Buursma.

Description of the document and reference to The Joint Archives of Holland by Dr. Elton J. Bruins.

About the collection:

Elton J. Bruins, long-time professor in the Department of Religion at Hope College, spent years collecting documents by and about Albertus C. Van Raalte, founder of Holland, Michigan and early patron of Hope College. Documents were gathered from dozens of public and private collections, making a nearly exhaustive collection of Van Raalte's writings and reflections. It is these documents that make up the "Van Raalte Papers."

Digitizing the Van Raalte papers was supported by the Dutch Culture USA program by the Consulate General of the Netherlands in New York. The project was done in partnership with Heritage Hall at Calvin University, which also digitized its Van Raalte collections.


The original documents are held in The Joint Archives of Holland.


This digitized material is intended for personal research/study only. The original documents may not be reproduced for commercial use in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, without permission in writing from The Joint Archives of Holland.

Congregational Meeting Minutes of the First Reformed Church