Document Type



Hope College class of 1917; Western Theological Seminary class of 1921; University of Michigan, 1918, M.A; minister of the RCA; professor of Bible, Central College, 1921‑1924; pastor, Bethany Reformed Church, Chicago, 1924‑1928; professor, Western Theological Seminary, 1928‑1960; WTS president, 1942‑1960. Materials include personal and official correspondence, 1950‑1960; class lectures in systematic theology and religious education; sermons; resource materials for lectures; reports of the American Association of Theological Schools; seminary property and building fund reports; annual reports of his presidency, 1956‑1959; executive committee materials; correspondence with Samuel M. Cavert concerning the Federal Council of Churches, 1947‑1948; records of seminary finances, seminary business papers; the genealogy of Pieter De Pree, student papers, and clippings. Correspondents include Henry Bast, Louis H. Benes, Thomas Boslooper, Bernard Brunsting, Donald E. Buteyn, Donald J. Bruggink, Marion de Velder, Elton M. Eenigenburg, William Goulooze, I. John Hesselink, Jr., Eugene P. Heideman, Harvey Hoekstra, Tena Holkeboer, Albert Hyma, Lester J. Kuyper, Irwin J. Lubbers, Bernard J. Mulder, M. Eugene Osterhaven, Mrs. Frances Phelps Otte, John Piet, Norman Vincent Peale, Albertus Pieters, Herman J. Ridder, Joseph R. Sizoo, Robert H. Schuller, Gerrit T. Vander Lugt, A. Livingston Warnshuis, and Samuel M. Zwemer.


Download document for the detailed Collection Register.

Please visit the Joint Archives of Holland page for more information.