Document Type



Hope College class of 1928; Western Theological Seminary class of 1932; Princeton Theological Seminary class of 1937; Union Theological Seminary class of 1939; Doctor of Divinity honorary degree by Hope College in 1944; Minister of the Reformed Church in American (RCA); pastorates included: Ninth Reformed Church of Grand Rapids, Michigan (1932‑1936) and Clover Hill Reformed Church in New Jersey (1936‑1939); professor of the Old Testament at Western Theological Seminary (1939‑1974); president of the General Synod in 1970; interim president of New Brunswick Theological/Western Theological Seminary (1971‑1973). Collection contains class notes and coursework from Hope College, Western Theological, Princeton Theological, and Union Theological seminaries, and his master’s and doctorate theses regarding the Old Testament, correspondence, sermons and Sunday school lessons, lecture notes and files (also Dutch lectures), papers on the Reformed Church in America, information on the Bible Land travel seminar, materials on an exchange professorship with the Netherlands Reformed Churches (1959), the merger discussions between the RCA and the United Presbyterian Church (1945‑1949), Theological Commission of the RCA (1962‑1964) and the committee on Theological Education (1963‑1966); information related to Kuyper’s time as president of the General Synod (1970); and Kuyper family genealogy. Correspondents include John W. Beardslee III, Raymond Beckering, Julius Brewer, Arie Brouwer, Donald Buteyn, Donald Bruggink, Bernard Brunsting, Jerome De Jong, Harold de Roo, Marion de Velder, Lowell Ditzen, Harold Englund, Henry Gehman, Herman Harmelink III, I. John Hesselink, Eugene Heideman, Peter Hsieh, Joachim Jermias, Vernon Kooy, League for Christian Laymen, Beth Marcus, John Mulder, Russell Norden, M. Eugene Osterhaven, F. Marmaduke Potter, Ervin Roorda, Isaac Rottenberg, Abraham Rynbrandt, Calvin Schnucker, Harold Schut, Lewis Scudder, Elco Stapert, Theophilus Taylor, John Ter Louw, Norman Thomas, William Thompson, Raymond Van Heukelom, Arnold Veenschoten, Dennis Voskuil, Christian Walvoord, Luther Weigle, and Harry Wieskamp.


Download document for the detailed Collection Register.

Please visit the Joint Archives of Holland page for more information.